February 9th, 2012
05:24 PM ET

10 states freed from 'No Child Left Behind' requirements

by the CNN Wire Staff

Washington (CNN) - Ten states are being granted waivers to free them from some requirements of the No Child Left Behind education reform law, with President Barack Obama explaining Thursday that the move aims to "combine greater freedom with greater accountability."

Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Tennessee will no longer have to meet 2014 targets set by the law.

In exchange for that flexibility, the states "have agreed to raise standards, improve accountability, and undertake essential reforms to improve teacher effectiveness," the White House said in a statement Thursday morning.

Obama elaborated on the rationale for the decision later in the day, speaking at a White House event attended by teachers and school superintendents.

He stressed that his administration remains committed to the overarching goals of raising standards and closing the achievement gap in the nation's public schools. At the same time, "We determined we need a different approach" than what was prescribed by the landmark legislation.

"We've offered every state the same deal: We've said, if you're willing to set higher, more honest standards then we're going to give you the flexibility to meet those standards," Obama said.

Posted by
Filed under: NCLB • Policy • Practice
soundoff (2 Responses)
  1. Michael

    Resign? Bad choice because we kids are the future and we need education to move toward success.

    February 10, 2012 at 12:06 am |
  2. cole

    i think we should not resign from the "no child left behind" because we have kids out on the street now

    February 9, 2012 at 5:55 pm |